The Fifth Anton Eberst International Competition was held at Isidor Bajić Music School from November 29 through December 2, 2012.  This year the competition gathered a total of 88 contestants from 11 countries: Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Hungary, Spain, France, Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Russia and Great Britain.

The competition is dedicated to Professor Anton Eberst, the founder of NOMUS (Novi Sad Music Festivities) and the Novi Sad School of wind instruments.

The opening ceremony of the competition took place on November 29 in the Novi Sad City Hall.  Opening speaches were given by:

Radmila Rakin-Martinović, Executive Director of the competition

Nikola Srdić, Artistic Director of the competition

Timothy Barrett, Director of Buffet Crampon for Southeast Europe, representing the sponsoring instutition awarding the prize clarinet worth 3000 Euros to the competition

Milanka Brkić, the representative and member in charge of culture for the Novi Sad City Council, General Patron of the competition.

The evening’s musical program featured performances by Vasa Vučković, clarinet, First Prize Winner in Category C at the Third Anton Eberst International Wind Competition (2010), and String Quartet Anton Eberst.

The Jury of the Fifth International Anton Eberst Competition was comprised of the esteemed musicians and pedagogues: Béla Kovács (Hungary), serving as the Jury Head, Davor Reba (Croatia), Tadej Kenig (Slovenia), Nikola Srdić (Serbia), Đuro Pete (Serbia), Maximiliano Martin (Spain), and Yves Sévère (France).

The contestants performed in four competition categories, and the jury awarded the following prizes:

Baby Category
Kastelic Luka (Slovenia)First Prize
Pavkovič Žan (SloveniaSecond Prize
Matija Raičević (Serbia)Second Prize
Balać Slaven (Serbia)Third Prize
Novak Eva (Slovenia)Third Prize
A Category
Lugosi Dániel Ali (Hungary)First Prize
Sándor Norbert (Hungary)Second Prize
Paškvan Matej (Slovenia)Third Prize
Vindišar Luka (Slovenia)Third Prize
B  Category
Gymesi Bálint (Hungary)First Prize
Ivković Marko (Serbia)Second Prize
Kéringer Dávid (Hungary)Second Prize
Kranjac Toni (Croatia)Third Prize
Petek Laura (Slovenia)Third Prize
Kocev Martin (FYR Macedonia)Encouragement Award
C Category
Bogdan Bikicki (Serbia)First Prize
Kuder Matic (Slovenia)Second Prize
Nikola Jančić (Serbia)Third Prize

The competition ended on December 2, 2012 after the Closing Concert of the prize winners and the Awards Ceremony took place.

The next Anton Eberst International Competition, the 6th, will take place in November 2012, and contestants will be young flutists.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *